Following a flurry of elections on 6 May, the Conservatives are no longer the largest party on Tandridge District Council.

The loss of seats in the south of the district means the Oxted & Limpsfield Residents Group (OLRG) and their alliance of independents are the largest political group with sixteen councillors. The Tories now have fourteen and the Liberal Democrats have nine. The Conservative group has shrunk from 29 councillors in 2000.

The OLRG are now in the driving seat. With no overall control they will be looking to partner up or create an arrangement with another group to run the council. The popularity of the OLRG has been their single-policy campaigning to prevent the building of a garden village in the south of Tandridge, near to South Godstone. 

At County Council level, the Tories still hold four of the six seats in the Tandridge district despite losing Godstone division with a 26.2% swing to an independent candidate. They offset this by taking Caterham Hill from the Lib Dems by just 94 votes. The Lib Dems continue to represent Caterham Valley through new County Councillor Jeffrey Gray, taking over from David Lee.

There was no change of control in the Caterham Hill (LD), Caterham Valley (Con) and Warlingham (Con) Parish Councils. A new group, Whyteleafe Community Hub, won four of the seven seats on Whyteleafe Village Council - we look forward to seeing what they have planned for the good people of Whyteleafe!

In other ballots, the Surrey Police & Crime Commissioner saw Lib Dem Paul Kennedy make the cut to the final two candidates, eventually losing by just 42,900 votes. The Caterham, Chaldon and Whyteleafe Neigbourhood Plan referendum received a resounding 'Yes' vote from 87.2% of electors.


Surrey Lib Dem News

All updates from Surrey County Council Lib Dems